Virginia, a southeastern U.S. state, stretches from the Chesapeake Bay to the Appalachian Mountains, with a long Atlantic coastline. It’s one of the 13 original colonies, with historic landmarks including Monticello, founding father Thomas Jefferson’s iconic Charlottesville plantation. The Jamestown Settlement and Colonial Williamsburg are living-history museums reenacting Colonial and Revolutionary-era life. ― Google

CapitalRichmond Trending
Founded: June 25, 1788
Governor: Ralph Northam (Democratic Party)
Colleges and Universities: University of Virginia, MORE
Points of interest: Shenandoah National Park, MORE
population: 8.6 million
State Sales Tax: 5.3%

 Counties in Virginia:

Augusta County

Appomattox County

Amherst County

Amelia County

Alleghany County

Albemarle County

Accomack County

Bath County

Bedford County

Bland County

Botetourt County

Brunswick County

Buchanan County

Buckingham County

Campbell County

Caroline County

Carroll County

Charles City County

Charlotte County

Chesterfield County

Clarke County

Craig County

Culpeper County

Cumberland County

Dickenson County

Dinwiddie County

Essex County

Fauquier County

Floyd County

Fluvanna County

Franklin County

Frederick County

Giles County

Gloucester County

Goochland County

Grayson County

Greene County

Greensville County

Halifax County

Hanover County

Henrico County

Henry County

Highland County

Isle of Wight County

James City County

King and Queen County

King George County

King William County

Louisa County

Lunenburg County

Loudoun County

Lee County

Lancaster County

Montgomery County

Middlesex County

Mathews County

Madison County

Mecklenburg County

Northampton County

New Kent County

Nelson County

Northumberland County

Nottoway County

Orange County

Patrick County

Pittsylvania County

Powhatan County

Prince Edward County

Prince George County

Pulaski County

Page County

Rappahannock County

Russell County

Rockingham County

Rockbridge County

Roanoke County

Richmond County

Scott County

Shenandoah County

Smyth County

Southampton County

Spotsylvania County

Stafford County

Surry County

Sussex County

Tazewell County

Warren County

Washington County

Westmoreland County

Wise County

Wythe County

York County